Sign in with
Your question

Need some computer advise

Last response: in CPUs
August 5, 2004 10:07:15 PM

Sorry if this is off topic but I was told to repost here.
I could use some help on a new comp

I plan on building my first computer. I'm quite excited about it but also don't want to screw anything up. So far this is all I've decided I want.

Ati Radeon 9800 Pro 256MB
1 Gig 3200 DDR ram Corsair
AMD Processor

This will be a gaming machine and I look at spending $1000 to $1300
I've done a bunch of research but really its just spawned new questions.
Athlon Xp or 64? I heard AMD rates their chips different than intel, is this correct?
Is the Asus motherboard a good choice? Which one? The 939 looks good but then i'm a bit of a noob at this stuff.
What size power source do I need?
How do you make sure your motherboard fits your case?
Is there anything I need to watch out for when building my computer? Is there more physically than just connecting all the pieces?

My experience lvl is somewhere in the middle. I know what everything is and what it does when looking inside a computer. I can replace drives, cards, and all that. Its just that final step of building one from scratch that I've never done. Thanks to anyone that can offer any help.

More about : computer advise

August 5, 2004 10:46:04 PM