Your question

Windows 7 occaisionally freezes on startup and locks up in desktop

Tags:
  • Desktops
  • Windows 7
Last response: in Windows 7
December 7, 2012 4:02:34 PM

Hello,

This is my first time ever posting on a forum asking for help, but this latest issue has been bothering me for a while and I am stumped!

Sorry I am writing this from work so I may not remember all the details off the top of my head... but you can tell how much this is bothering me :) . Let me know if more details are needed and I can figure it out and send them over in the evening.

To start off here is my system:

CPU: I-7 930
RAM: 12GB
HDD: 500GB WD Blue
Power Supply: 750W Thermaltake
AMD Radeon HD5900

I can take pictures of my system later tonight.

My issue is that when I boot my computer, sometimes Windows 7 will get start at the Win 7 glowing icon (startup screen). When it locks up there is no HDD activity. Occaisionally, after power cycling the desktop a couple of times it will get into the windows desktop. Sometimes I can do a few things but then it will lock up and either be really slow or it will lockup, then unlock, lockup, then unlock.

When I boot into safe mode with networking everything seems okay and I don't experience any lockups.

Now all of this never used to happen. I recently moved (for a job) and a company had packed up and shipped my desktop PC. They had packed it really well. But before the desktop was shipped everything seemed to work fine. When I unboxed it and setting it up in my new place is when it started behaving this way.

Help is very much appreciated.

More about : windows occaisionally freezes startup locks desktop

December 7, 2012 4:05:52 PM

Sorry I forgot to add my MOBO:

ASUS P6T SE

mcooblal said:
Hello,

This is my first time ever posting on a forum asking for help, but this latest issue has been bothering me for a while and I am stumped!