New AMD64 and mobo....sorry im a noob!!!

AgOnNy

Distinguished
Jun 7, 2004
Hi all,

I need some help. I have just purchased a MSI Neo2 Platinum and a AMD64 3500+ Socket 939.

I currently run a standard 32 bit system.
Now, i dont really want to format my hdd. I was thinking of re-installing Windows XP over the top of the current one. Will this cause problems??

And do i need any special drivers or anything to make sure it works properly???

Please give as much info as possible, cos i dont wanna stuff it up.

Thanks heaps

TheRod

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2002
You don't need to reformat, but I strongly recommend you to NOT install WinXP over your actual WinXP.

If your HDD is "FAT32", then boot with a Win98/WinME diskette and rename your actual Windows directory. Then, reinstall Windows XP on your system in a new directory, after everything is done you will be able to delete your old Windows and a "fresh" system without any format!

I can suggest you that having 2 partitions (split your HDD in 2 logical part) is always a good thing when it comes to system upgrade or reinstalling, you basically have 1 partition for Windows that you can wipe at anytime and a second partition for your programs, games and documents that you don't need to format when you do major OS upgrade, etc...

So, my recommandation for you is to backup your stuff on CD or DVD. Then partition your HDD (a partition of 10Gig is more than enough for Windows XP, the rest for your files, programs, etc...). Then install windows and you will never have any problem in the future.

<font color=red>THE FOLLOWING STUFF IS RISKY :</font color=red>

You can try to go into your hardware manager i n WinXP and remove all the stuff that is in it related to your motherboard and CPU, then shut down your PC, swap your hardware and reboot your "new system" and have your WinXP CD ready. This might work... But, this can mess everything too!!!

--
A7N8X / <font color=green><b>AMD Sempron 2800+</b></font color=green>