street_racer5

Distinguished
Sep 9, 2004
Hi, im new to THG Community, althought i am a fan of THG for a few years now,,

i am building my next computer,, now purpose of use is for music, video editing, photoshop work, and high end gaming, i.e. Half life 2, Doom 3.

I have decided that i am going to go for a scoket 939 Amd processor, and i was wondering if the Amd 3800+ is overkill. I will be doing alot of gaming, and i am spending a fair amount on a new system ($3K USD). I live in canada and i can get this processor for ($875 CND). Althought the price may drop by $50-$75. I would like your advice on weither i should buy this.

**Note that i will not be building this system until sometime during late December, and by the the AMD 4000+ should be out. I want an extreamly fast processor and something which is the 2nd or 3rd fastest processor.

Thank You street.....

gothitbycar

Distinguished
Dec 16, 2002
Right now I'd get the 3500+ but since your not building until december the 3800+ would be good. Once the new 4000+ is out the price of the 3800+ should drop dramatically. Sounds like a good plan to me.

-----------------------
oh, its a nice day. TO EAT CHILDREN!!!

street_racer5

Distinguished
Sep 9, 2004
Now if some of you are wondering why i want such a high end cpu, it is because i have not upgraded my computer since 1999. It is a pentium III @ 533mhz, 128 mb of pc133ram, asus 40bx p3b0f mobo. I HAVE A 19 gig harddrive which i full, and my video card is a Nvidia geforce 256. Also my system is bogged down running 2000pro and xp pro on duel boot. I can barley have winamp,msn messenger and firefox open without freezing or having a system crash....

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff