For AMD users....

Last response: in CPUs
September 14, 2004 3:13:22 PM

My current config

P4 3.2E
2GB DDR400 (Kingston value RAM)
X800XT
Lots of HDDs, 2 in SATA RAID 0

What all changes (apart from processor, mobo, lighter wallet, consumed time/energy) will I require to switch to a more powerful AMD system. And what combo of mobo+processor u recommend. I will use the comp for gaming and all ususal stuff. I am a sucker for tech.

<i> :tongue: <font color=blue>I don't suffer from insanity.</font color=blue><font color=red> I enjoy every minute of it.</font color=red> :tongue: </i>
<b>He who laughs last thinks slowest!</b><P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by priyajeet on 09/14/04 10:17 AM.</EM></FONT></P>

More about : amd users

September 14, 2004 3:53:16 PM

um don't do [-peep-] to that machine
September 14, 2004 4:27:13 PM

That looks like a great gaming rig.
You won't get much better with anything else.

========================
Try everything...
Do not be afraid of failure, for this is how we learn and grow...
Live life to the fullest...
Do not regret what you have not yet done!!!
Related resources
September 14, 2004 4:37:34 PM

Why would you want to change anything in that rig? It's downright perfect.

You won't get any noticeable performance gains from changing CPUs. A 3.2Ghz is quite enough for anything you might want to do today.

So why bother? Like you said, you'd need to change processor, mobo, and you'd have to look for everything. You might want to sell your old parts as well. Is this worth your time? NO, OBVIOUSLY NOT! You'd be no better than Kanavit - the guy who changed from 2.8C to 3.0E, to 3.2E and then to A64 3400+. What is the point? All that trouble for a few percentage points in benchmarks? It won't matter. Save up some more, and then go for a dual-core (from AMD, if that is important to you - or from anyone who's got the best product) next year. And a revamped, fully-featured mobo.
September 14, 2004 4:38:37 PM