Why buying 754 could be a better idea

El_Jefe_77

Distinguished
Aug 10, 2004
I have been figuring and reading on this topic for 2 months now. 939 is only good if you dont care AT ALL about your spending or value.
1. 939 costs more
2. 754 does not have any known slow downs in the slightest for any game mentioned in any forum I have read.
3. 939 requires dual channel to be worth it, requiring more cash down for memory. You either get a gig or a 512 setup at first, either one isnt as fast as getting 2 gigs. 754 you could get 1 gig chip at normal latency and then another one in a year if needed, thats a lot of ram for 40% less cost.
4. the top chip is 3700 for 754, same as the 3800 just not dual channel, both are way over what you need, so in a year, if not enough speed, just get a 3700 for much cheaper than current.
5. One of the best current boards for speed is MSI. msi is problematic, any other board you have to OC it to up the mem to 1000 fsb, 754 has mature boards that are all even hitters.
6. You wont be sucked into the upgrade game, ditching your board for useless sli pci-e, ditching your board for ddr2 and ram as well, youll just chill and play your games at full speed.

Price difference between the two setups is a lot more than you would assume, cuz you want to get the better ram as well to make it really work nice.

pauldh

Illustrious