mustang51

Distinguished
Oct 4, 2004
Two days ago, I loaded up a save game from Doom3. As soon as the game loaded, my system froze. I also tried playing Heroes 3 of Might and Magic, Shadow of Death, and the game would either abort or cause my system to reboot within a few minutes of play.

To make a long story short, I was able to isolate the problem to the FSB speed... at 133MHz the problems happen... at 100MHz everything is stable. I have been running this system for a little over 2 years at 133MHz with no problems... and now all of a sudden, I have problems at 133 MHz FSB setting.

Hardware: (1)Soyo KT333 Dragon Ultra (black) (2)AMD Athlon XP 2100+ (3)nVidia GeForce 4 TI 4400 128MB (4) 1GB RAM - 2 x 512MB Corsair PC-2700 XMS

Any ideas on how I can isolate this problem? I can run 2D windows applications w/o problems at either 100 or 133 MHz FSB.

There are 10 types of people... those that understand binary... and those that don't!

pauldh

Illustrious
I have a Dragon Ultra Black that was my gaming machine for a long time. I Spent big bucks buying that big Soyo box loaded with goodies. Started with an Xp1800+, then a 2100+, then/now maxed at a 2400+. And I had 1 stick 512MB Samsung PC2700 DDR. Was running it with Win98se.

Anyway. Doom 3 stresses the system more than most games. Are you overclocking anything? If so, go back to stock speeds and test. Otherwise, go in bios and turn off Turbo settings, and set ram to by SPD. See if this helps you run cpu at 133. Next, like me, you may be running the ram faster than the CPU, (which was the KT333's performance boost over KT266a). Meaning XP2100+ is a 266 bus chip (133), but your ram is set to run 333MHz (166). Your ram may not be able to handle 333MHz now, or at least not on the soyo mobo while stressed in Doom 3. I would set it back so the ram is running at 266MHz like the cpu (133 setting) If you get stumped and need more help walking through the bios changes more clearly, just ask.