will dual core be a step backwards short-term wise

dobster99

Distinguished
Oct 5, 2004
Im not a computer expert and don't claim to be as computer literate as most of THs forum posters. My question is that with all the hoopla about dual cores did anyone care to think about the implications of moving from a single core enviroment to multicore desktop enviroment? Doesn't software have to be program to take advantage of a multithreaded enviroment?

I assume that the first multi-core chips from Intel and AMD will consist of cpu cores that are no where near the performance of the highend single cores. In other words, you won't see AMD slap two A64 3800s together from the get go. More like two underclocked A64 2800/3000 in a dual core configuration. When taking account heat output, power usage as well as cost, this is a very likely scenario.

The problem is that most of the software available at the time that dual cores hit the market, will not be able to take advantage of both cores. Lets face it. Game performance will be a major factor in the adoption rates of dual cores. Gamers are what push the desktop cpu performance increases. No one upgrades their cpu to improve their scores on their WordPerfect benchmarks. The A64 wouldn't be %&%* if it could encode a video like a mainframe but played Doom3 or FarCry with a performance of a calculator. It will take time for multi-threaded capable games to hit the market. I doubt a lot of developers will be willing to delay their projects to multithread them, especially if they are within 6 to 8 months of release. They won't waste the money until there is a significant install base of dual cores.