Archived from groups: comp.sys.palmtops.pilot (More info?)
I've been a long time Treo 300 user and I'm really interested in a Treo
650. So, a friend pointed me to this site where you can sign up for a
'so-called free' Treo 650.
Well, it really isn't 'free'. You need to purchase a pair of 'cell
phone boosters' first for $40. Then your name gets added to the list of
people who are in line to get their 'free' Treo 650. Each time enough
people buy a cell phone booster, then the next person in line gets
their so-called 'free' Treo 650.
I have a link to the site from here:
http://www.pcpages.com/glenndav/ (you're not supposed to get a pop-up ad, but one person reported that
they got one)
It looks like a cute idea, so I'm going to try it out. Take a look and
post a reply if you or anybody you know who has used this site before.
I'd like to hear about anybody's experience with it. A couple of notes
on a few boards makes this look promising.
And if this isn't legit ... has anybody had experience getting their
money back from the credit card company if that's the case?
Archived from groups: comp.sys.palmtops.pilot (More info?)
On Sun, 26 Dec 2004 21:50:57 -0800, TreoJunky wrote:
> Well, it really isn't 'free'. You need to purchase a pair of 'cell
> phone boosters' first for $40.
> I have a link to the site from here:
> http://www.pcpages.
And just by chance, once the link is clicked, it adds up your referral to
this scam.
Charming, why dont you just say give me $40, and you wont get anything?
Alan.
--
To reply by e-mail, change the ' + ' to 'plus'.
http://www.dvatc.co.uk - Off-road cycling in the North Midlands.
Archived from groups: comp.sys.palmtops.pilot (More info?)
TreoJunky wrote:
<snip>
This is one of an increasing number of pyramid schemes filling
discussion forums and newsgroups these days.
Remember: If each "winner" of a Treo had to refer 5 other people, there
would be no Treo for the more than 5 billion people on earth who would
have to be at the lowest level of the pyramid.
Archived from groups: comp.sys.palmtops.pilot (More info?)
wrote:
> I've been a long time Treo 300 user and I'm really interested in a
Treo
> 650. So, a friend pointed me to this site where you can sign up for
a
> 'so-called free' Treo 650.
> I'd like to hear about anybody's experience with it. A couple of
notes
> on a few boards makes this look promising.
>
> And if this isn't legit ... has anybody had experience getting their
> money back from the credit card company if that's the case?
They're both correct. It is legit AND it is a pyramid thing. That
said, my wife has gotten both the Treo 650 and an iPod (which I got)
from the referral. I was completely skeptical thinking she's just
gotten fleeced, but it was only $80 so I stopped her before it got any
deeper. I changed my tone when both items showed up about three weeks
later. Here's the link if you want it :
www.power2source.com/index.php?ref_id=938
Archived from groups: comp.sys.palmtops.pilot (More info?)
I've done it twice. I opted to take the cash $450 instead of the treo
650 because I didn't want to pay duty and it's faster to go buy it
yourself then to wait for shipping. Both times the money showed up in
my paypal acct. about an hour after enough people signed up for me to
recieve the treo. The key is to get on a list before it has too many
people waiting. I've signed up again because the list is still short.
TreoJunky wrote:
> I've been a long time Treo 300 user and I'm really interested in a
Treo
> 650. So, a friend pointed me to this site where you can sign up for
a
> 'so-called free' Treo 650.
>
> Well, it really isn't 'free'. You need to purchase a pair of 'cell
> phone boosters' first for $40. Then your name gets added to the list
of
> people who are in line to get their 'free' Treo 650. Each time enough
> people buy a cell phone booster, then the next person in line gets
> their so-called 'free' Treo 650.
>
> I have a link to the site from here:
> http://www.pcpages.com/glenndav/ > (you're not supposed to get a pop-up ad, but one person reported that
> they got one)
>
> It looks like a cute idea, so I'm going to try it out. Take a look
and
> post a reply if you or anybody you know who has used this site
before.
> I'd like to hear about anybody's experience with it. A couple of
notes
> on a few boards makes this look promising.
>
> And if this isn't legit ... has anybody had experience getting their
> money back from the credit card company if that's the case?
You are about to answer a thread that has been inactive for more than 6 months. If you still wish to proceed, please ensure that your posting is original and does not duplicate or overlap any prior responses to this thread.