Please critique this tentative system!

bovinda

Distinguished
Nov 25, 2004
Hello, I'm sorry if this is the wrong place for this, but I wasn't sure which forum would be most appropriate.

I am a first-time computer builder (who really doesn't know anything about building computers). From lurking and what not on this forum and others I have put this list together for a PC that would do light gaming and serve as an HTPC (no overclocking--I'm saving that for the next computer I build, once I've gotten a little more familiar with the routine).

I humbly ask the many knowledgable THG folks out there to glance over this list, and tell me if there is a better choice I could make for my goals, experience, and price range:

Antec Sonata case (w/ included Antec 380 watt PSU)
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (90 nm, socket 939) OEM or retail
MSI "K8N Neo Platinum" nForce 3 Ultra for socket 939
1 gig Corsair Value-Select RAM
XFX NVidia 6600 GT video card (AGP)
Samsung 160 GB 7200 RPM SATA hard drive
NEC 16X 3500A BK DVD +/- burner
Windows Media Center Edition 2005 bundle w/ remote and PVR capture card

My spending range will be about 1000-1200$. I haven't priced every item exactly yet...

I sincerely appreciate any responses and suggestions at all.

Additionally...
1. Is the Antec 380 watt PSU satisfactory for this build?

2. Is the HSF on the retail 3200+ processor satisfactory for cooling and quiet (considering no overclocking)? Or would it be better to get the OEM processor and pick up a separate heat sink and fan?

3. Should I add another fan to the case?

Thanks everyone. I apologize if there are answers here I could have found by searching posts, but my life isn't affording me that kind of time these days. If you can point me to a link, however, I would really appreciate it.

Cheers,
Jeff

earthling

Distinguished
Jul 28, 2004
Hello and welcome to THG.