I don't get mechanical keyboards...

majestic1805

Honorable
Oct 1, 2012
Almost everywhere I read about them one of the selling points is the click sound. I hate that. I don't want my keyboard or mouse to make noise. Longevity has never been an issue either. Being a gamer and programmer, I've never worn out a membrane keyboard and I've had them for years. That said, I do agree membrane keyboards feel cheap. I just can't bring myself to spend $100 or more on something that is pure feeling.

The general impression I get is that they feel better, you type faster, and overall make the world a better place to live but I already do 80-90 WPM. Will one of these boost me well over 100? Are there any other features that make them "worth it?"

a keyboard, along with your mouse are you primary input devices. you want these devices to be as comfortable, easy and accurate to use as possible.

in your living room would you buy plastic furniture or a la-z-boy sofa? technically both solve the problem of sitting down but one obviously feels better and comes with more options. the one is quite a bit more expensive but most people make the purchase for that "pure feeling" upgrade. while not 100% the same, you get the idea.

you can get mechanical keyswitches:
-with or without tactile feedback.
-with or without auditory feedback.
-with or without key letoff
-in various resistances
-in low profile laptop swissor switch style

this means that you can get a keyboard which fits your exact purposes and preferences instead of using a generic keyboard.

in general the reason why you type faster and more accurately is because of high letoff and the smooth mechanical action. stiffer keys eliminate most accidental keypresses. tactile feedback and auditory feedback let your brain know you pressed the key correctly so that you can move on to the next key and after time also influences typing speed.