Cool the north bridge

Chop

Distinguished
Nov 26, 2004
Thanks in advance for your help .
" They " say there are no stupid questions , so here goes .
I'm runnin a 3e prescott (478 ) on a Asus P4P800 Deluxe .
Stabil overclock @ 3.5 .
It smells so darn hot under load . MBM5 reports a 52c temp under load . Torture test on prime 95 , cpu temp rises to 55c . thru the first 5 sets of tests .
The Asus probe alarm goes off on the mobo temp , just for a second , then stops . Shows well over 80c for the mobo .
I've read that if over clocking you have to be aware of the " north bridge " temp .

So if its not a stupid qeustion , can you tell me what the north bridge is , and how to cool it ?
FYI , I'm a union Carpenter from St. Louis , and have taught my self how to build these things . I think I know the answer to this , but I'm not sure . Thanks again for ur help .

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff
The Northbridge is the part of the chipset closest to the CPU and RAM. Some have a passive sink, others use a fan. I believe yours uses a passive sink, but you could try screwing a fan to it.

<font color=blue>Only a place as big as the internet could be home to a hero as big as Crashman!</font color=blue>
<font color=red>Only a place as big as the internet could be home to an ego as large as Crashman's!</font color=red>

Ghetto Style :lol: I like it!

mozzartusm

Splendid
Sep 17, 2004