Sign in with
Your question

Need help choosing a path..

Last response: in Work & Education
July 30, 2012 6:12:07 PM

Hi everyone

This is my very first post on here, and wouldn't you know it that it involves seeking advice/help. My story is I've been a freelance tech for about 4 years now. Most of my knowledge comes from tinkering with my home network and desktop pc as well as fixing local computers in the neighborhood. I'm an ex-gamer (was heavily into them in the last 4 years but fell out about a year ago which is where a lot of my experience comes from in terms of computers)

Anyway, putting my skills and knowledge into a category is very difficult since I have no certs/degrees. I know my way in and out of desktops and laptops, virus scans and removal, back-up using external hard drives, running networking cable with cat5 including stripping/cutting/crimping etc. I've set up soho networks including my home network, pretty much your standard 5-12 node network using a wireless + 4 port router provided by verizon. setting the wireless controls and such. I'm currently hired by a staffing firm, but the days of work i get are way too inconsistent and not very worthy of putting on a resume (though, they are on there, since it's better than no experience i suppose)

I've studied very heavily into the Comptia a+ and n+ certs, and at this point i'm fairly confident I could go pass both of them right now, or with a little more time, so I guess you *could* say i'm at n+ approaching s+ level? the route i'm currently looking to go is something along the lines of a Network Security Analyst/Admin, or something to do with MCSE?

Sorry for all that jibber-jabber, I'm just trying to give as much information as possible, so now here's my question..