BioHazard

Distinguished
Dec 25, 2004
Hey guys

I would like to know if the Intel Pentium® 4 LGA 775 CPU (3.0Ghz)HT 1MB Cache is a good pick for a new PC im am about to embark on building my first coustom PC :D and im not to sure of where to start off buying components (any help). I am wondering is this a good CPU to go for or do you guys have any other recomedations ???

I'd recommend a "c" series northwood over the "e" prescott, due to heat issues. The 2.8 or 3.0c are good choices for performance and value. You can use them with the abit is7 or ic7. For amd, the socket 939 3200 is a good choice, if you can find an nforce4 board to go with it. If you don't have deep pockets, I would get the non sli version and save about $80-100.

BioHazard

Distinguished
Dec 25, 2004
Im not that technical with PC parts all i know is that the CPU i stated is a fast and in my price range one its around 120 pounds

For socket 775, checkout the abit AG8 motherboard with pci express and regular ddram support. Regular ddram is cheaper than ddr2 and performs just as well. Some of the new Intel heatsinks are rather loud. I use a zalman "fan mate 1" to reduce fan rpms for quieter running. It's only $5 in the us.

mozzartusm

Splendid
Sep 17, 2004