EMERGENCY!!!!

bodhisatva

Distinguished
Jan 16, 2005
hi ppl,
i really neeed help, coz my sys cannot sustain prolonged periods of working becoz of OVERHEATING!! and i am in the middle of exams...really need the pc!!!
this is wat happened:
i had opened my cabinet to clean out the dust...wen i noticed tht the fans were dusty as well.... so not only did i clean them, i put some mustard oil( cooking grade...mind ya) in each one of them....including the freakin processor fan! now, wen i closed the PC and ran the system..... i noticed tht my processor temp was abnormally hi( around 59celsius) and the fan speed was kinda low (around 2500RPM)....so i still didnt worry too much, coz i get tht kinda temp pretty often..(even though not wen idle, only during hi gfx games)....i thought tht i had scraped off the heat sink compound wen i was cleaning it and dissmissed it from my mind...... i started playing BREED, wen all of a sudden my sys hangs up with this really spooky texture on my screen.....
wen i reboot , i get a warning tht the proc was shutdown due to a thermal event....
tht got me really scared, so i chked the sytem temp in the BIOS,
system zone-1 : 33 cel
system zone-2 : 39 cel
processor zone: 86 cel
and i noticed tht the goddamned fan was going around 2500RPM
Normally, wen the proc temp touches 59 deg, my fan is around 5000rpm....
so me spooked, i wen and got the stock fan of my friend's prescott, tht seemed to work.....but still temp is ABNORMALLY high ( idle 60), and the fan didnt seem to go higher the 2800 rpm. i dunno whether the fault the fault of my proc fan or watever...... pl help me out here....... PL!!

my sys specs:
p4 2.8 HT 800FSB (using the stock fan and a 300w intex power supply)
intel orig 865GBF mobo
256MB ram @400mhz
80GB hDD
geforce fx 5700VE (oc'ed to 350Mhz/ 550Mhz)
i got 2 extra fans in my cabinet
one of them i setup today( i took it from the PSU of an old PC)...its a 12vDC brushless fan
other one is near my gfx card!!