akari87

Distinguished
Jan 28, 2005
Hi I'm new to this, I've been to sites and can't really find actual instructions.

Heres what I have:
450Mhz P2 Processor
heres the number on the processor:
80523PY450512PE SL207

98290923-0674 MALAY
Its an Old Pentium II Processor, its black, big (it plugs into the motherboard like an SNES cartridge) it has dual fans on the gold heatsink, the heatsink is about a half an inch long. Thats all I know about it. I'm getting a new PC next week and I want to see how far I can overclock this and how better it will run (not much i know)

Any information you can give me or I can give you to help me with this please ask.

Thanks a bunch

akari87

Distinguished
Jan 28, 2005
Okay, thanks I have found some more information, and tweaked my system (found the overdrive thing on my mobo) with no luck. my mobo is a Gigabyte GA-BX2000+

Just really need to know now what kind of overclocking I should expect or try, I've read that no two overclockings, even for the same kind of machine are exactly the same.

heres the options I have
3x
3.5x
4x
4.5x
5x
5.5x
6x
6.5x
7x
7.5x
8x
8.5x

and :

Anyway thanks :)

ChipDeath

Splendid
May 16, 2002
A processor's final speed is given by [Multiplier] X [<b>F</b>ront <b>S</b>ide <b>B</b>us Speed]. Normally (especially in systems of that age) the memory runs at the same speed as the FSB. Pretty sure your Bus speed is 100Mhz, and your multiplier is 4.5x, giving 4.5x100 = 450Mhz.

heres the options I have
3x
3.5x
4x
4.5x
5x
5.5x
6x
6.5x
7x
7.5x
8x
8.5x
Those are multipliers. The bad news for you here is that Intel have always locked the multipliers on their chips, so whatever you set will have no effect :frown: .

and :
<i>These</i>, however, are the FSB speeds you can select. Because your multipliers are locked, adjusting this is the only way you have to increase the speed of your CPU.
e.g. at 112 your CPU would run at 4.5x112 = 504Mhz.

There are a couple of problems with increasing this value though: