Hole in CPU ?

honsbeek2

Distinguished
Jan 29, 2005
Hi ,

I was just wondering as a complete beginner...
I have a Pen 4 2.8 GHz Prescott (E) on the top of the chip on the metal covering there is a tiny hole in the corner...
What is it for???
The cooling paste that was there has gone into the hole, what will happen to the cpu if this happens???

thanks
Ralph

endyen

Splendid
That hole is to allow for expansion, and contraction of the metal heatspreader.
If you are talking about the paste that came with your chip, that shouldn't be a problem. It is non-conductive. Even with AS, it is usually not a big deal. However, AS is conductive. If it comes between 2 conductors, there could be a problem. Clean out the hole, as best you can, and dont worry too much about it.

peteroy

Distinguished
BANNED
Jun 14, 2004
<A HREF="http://www.arcticsilver.com/arctic_silver_instructions.htm" target="_new">see how P4 die looks like and more info about thermal paste</A>

==================================
<A HREF="http://www.clancas.net" target="_new">clan CHAOS</A>
<A HREF="http://www.daynighthosting.com" target="_new">DayNightHosting.com</A>

RichPLS

Champion
Man are you guys kiddin or what?
Everyone knows that the hole is there so that when you fry it you can use it for joolry

<pre><font color=red>°¤o,¸¸¸,o¤°`°¤o \\// o¤°`°¤o,¸¸¸,o¤°
And the sign says "You got to have a membership card to get inside" Huh
So I got me a pen and paper And I made up my own little sign</pre><p></font color=red>

P4Man

Distinguished
Feb 6, 2004
>The little tiny hole in the corner is used to identify the
>orientation the CPU when sloted into the socket

Doesn't make much sense to me; just printing something on it would be just as effective, cheaper and without any ill side effect.

Here is a more likely explanation (courtesy of google:)