about thermal grease...

G

Hi there folks, yet another newbie here in THG, and i have a question about using thermal grease. I am planning on upgrading my system and was wanting to get an AMD Athlon 64 3200 939 90nm, and i noticed you guys seem to recommend using as5 or ceramique, yet i seem to recall amd's website specificaly stating not to use grease with the thermal pad. Either one or the other according to them. If it is ok, was kinda curious why they would say that.

halo102

Distinguished
Nov 30, 2004
I just bought a new AMD processor (athlon xp 3000+) that came with the thermal pad on the bottem of the heatsink. I think the general idea is you can either use the pad it comes with OR very carefully whipe it off and replace it with thermal grease on the bottem of the CPU and put some on the processor chip. Which I would say is more hassle then its worth if the heatsink/fan came with the pad anyway.

If you were putting on a fan that didnt have any kind of cooling compound on the bottem (like one that didnt come with the processor) you would have to put the grease on. Or if you took the fan off and you were afraid the pad had got rubbed off or dirty or sumfing.

Im pretty much saying that I think the pad and the grease are just means to the same end, only use one at a time. Hope that healps

tweebel

Distinguished
Dec 15, 2004
You only get warranty with the boxed version if you use AMD's heatsink/fan combo with the grease it comes with. If you replace it, you'll void the warranty.

G