Broken/changed .exe association due to virus

barber surgeon

Distinguished
Nov 25, 2008
I stupidly got the "Windows 7 Security Center" virus from an attack site that neither my browser (Firefox) nor Microsoft Security Essentials caught in time. I immediately knew what happened, but it had "hijacked" all of my programs to redirect to it (I'm guessing this lead to the broken association), so that I was unable to open my actual security program or Malwarebytes and clean up (I'm accessing the internet at work ATM).

I managed to identify the invading process, shut it down, and revoked all of its permissions which seems to have it in remission as far as interrupting things. It's still there, of course, though. Now when I try to open any executable, I am met with a permission error. I am no expert at all on these matters, but it appears as though the virus changed the exe association to direct to itself, and changing the permissions only nullified the effect of accessing it.

How can I go about setting exes to open correctly so I can get rid of this thing?

I haven't done much yet (I attempted a lengthy virus scan on my Linux laptop using Clam that failed miserably), so I can't rule a lot out so far. I do know that I do not seem to have the "command.com" tool that a lot of solutions for repairing the registry reference. I checked the directory and everything -- it doesn't seem to be there.

I have a recent restore point; would that help? Could I make use of the command line in Safe Mode provided it runs?

barber surgeon

Distinguished
Nov 25, 2008

This sounds like a good thing to try. I didn't know about rescue disks (never had too many viruses). This would be a lot more convenient than one of my initial ideas of finding a Linux distro with a pre-installed AV and running a liveCD...