A+ Cert and stumped.

Status
Not open for further replies.

ryno_49

Honorable
Nov 28, 2012
Please click on the link below and see the scribble. The scribble is were the tool bars are located that I would love to remove. I'm running windows 7 Ultimate. Please help me. Thank you in advance.

Not to brag but, I have been working with computers since 1980. Also, I'm A+ certified. I have checked both add on and add and remove programs. There is nothing I can remove to solve the toolbar problem thus far. I don't wan't to screw with the registry. That usually turns out bad. I have no clew. Please help me.

Bruce

https://www.dropbox.com/s/cikk7wm5njgbn2r/Tool%20bars.png

Depending upon the source of the toolbar, typically the installation is either in your control panel under the add/remove software, or installed as an extension in chrome (tools > extensions). You can remove or disabled the extensions, the installed software in control panel only has remove options.

groundrat

Distinguished
Dec 11, 2012
Toolbars come in two varieties, the ones that are part of the application you are using and add-ons, which only apply to EI or FF.

To remove an application based toolbar left click on the toolbar area and select all the tools you wish to be displayed.

Add-ons are actually additional programs that run along with EI or FF in high memory. They eat resources and can drastically show down your surfing experience.

First of all, how did you get so many add-ons?

Are you surfing on an account with admin privs? If so, stop that crap. Create a user account and use that as your daily account. Only use an admin account for installing or removing software and performing computer maintenance.

Whenever you upgrade adobe, iTunes or Mozilla programs you will be prompted, as part of the install process, to install a toolbar. You do not have to do it.