fiveiron

Distinguished
Sep 25, 2004
So i finally gave in and bought some athlon 64 stuff.
This is what i have.

Abit an8
socket 939 3000+
MSI 6600gt
ultra pc4000 2x512 ram.

I am new to athlon 64 and have much more experience with pentium systems. This is my problem... i throw the vid card, ram and cpu in. It all reads it fine, runs everything perfectly, posts fine, i set it to boot to the windows xp cd in the drive, it starts to boot up asks me if i want to boot from iti hit enter but then is unable to boot to the hard drive for some reason, after hitting enter i just get the black screen with the blinking white line in the top left, ive tried windows 98, and booting to xp with floppys, nothing works. Is there something i dont know about with these systems? a bios setting or something i need to change? my hard drive which was previously on a p4 system is partitioned, could this be causing a problem. any help would be great. thanks.

fiveiron

Distinguished
Sep 25, 2004
yes thats exactly what i mean, it wont boot into windows. just kinda gets stuck right on the black screen with the little blinking line.

pat

Expert
because it boot to the hdd with your OS installed with your old P4 motherboard. It is not booting with the CDROM

Going from an Intel install to an AMD install need a complete reinstallation of XP.

So, it is a problem with either your first boot device is not correctly set to CDROM, or either your cdrom is not bootable anymore.

If you assemble the PC yourself, maybe you did something wrong with your cable.

But they are not different from Intel setup, at least, from what I've seen so far.

<font color=red>Sig space for rent. make your offer.</font color=red>

endyen

Splendid
You wont be able to use your old windows install, without repairing it first.
You need to set cdrom as your first boot device. This should allow you to hit enter, to get to the xp cd.