Building a Server

DrFat

Distinguished
May 5, 2005
hi, i'm a trainee it consultant and my boss has asked me to get a quote for a new server for our office. i know a bit about computers, but not a whole heap about servers. i've worked out what ram and storage devices i'll be getting, but i'm not too sure about motherboards and cpu's.
we'll be running about half a dozen computers plus a couple printers off the server. any help with what sort of motherboard or cpu i should get would be much appreciated.
i'm thinking minimum 2.6 ghz processor, sata, pci express and my boss specified we'd need 3 NICs.

jim552

Distinguished
May 1, 2003
Additionally, you need to know what Operating System to get?

In reality though, with only half a dozen systems running off of this pretty much anything with average speeds will be up to the task.

Our current standard server configuration is:
Asus SK8N Moterboard (officially discontinued now)
1 GB RAM
LSI Logic Mega RAID SATA-4 or SATA-6
Storcase SATA frames and carriers
SDLT for Backups
ATI Radeon 9200
The case we use also has redundant power supplies

We use the onboard Ethernet, but have some systems with the multi-port Intel cards. (NOTE: The dual-port Intel cards work fine the Quad-port Intel cards will not work with this motherboard. Read the Intel WEB site carefully, and with any luck you will skip the page that has been in error for over a year.)

I am not sure why there will be 3 nics, maybe it is for remote connectivity? If the goal is for "multi-homing" the Server under Windows Server 2000 it has been my experience that is much more difficult than useful.

I had grand plans to divide each office network into three physically separate spaces. Each office would be divided in half onto the dual-port Intel Ethernet cards, and the motherboard Ethernet would be used to communicate between the Servers as a "system network".