Good quality gaming monitor for under $300

Terminus14

Honorable
Aug 12, 2012
Approximate Purchase Date: Closer the better.

Budget Range: High end of my budget is $250. Possibly $300 but absolutely no higher.

Monitor Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, watching movies, surfing the internet, editing photos/videos

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg.com but I'm open to any other site with good reputations that you guys suggest

Country of Origin: United States

Brand Preferences: Preferably a company with a good rep. Asus, Samsung, Dell, ect...

Physical Size (Diagonal): 24"

Resolution(s) You'll Consider: 1920x1080 or higher for maximum resolution

Computers and Other Devices To Attach: Want to use this monitor to connect my laptop and my PS3 with an HDMI cable. I'm ok with only having one port on the monitor though because I can just switch the cable between devices.

Panel Type(s) Desired: I'm new to most things monitor related so just whatever you suggest

LED Backlight: Indifferent but leaning towards avoiding because I don't want problems with whitewashing in dark scenes in movies/games or the blue tint I keep hearing about.

Speakers: Indifferent

Wall-Mount: Indifferent

Stand Functions: Indifferent (pivot would be nice but not necessary)

Additional Comments: Low response time is preferred. Any ghosting or blurring during games would be really irritating so <5ms would be best. I'm using this as a second monitor for my laptop and as a screen for my PS3 so a high image quality with a wide range of colors is a must. Also, I've always had a problem in the past when, for example, a movie has a scene where it's night or in a dark room or whatever and it's hard to tell one thing from the other because it seems to all be the same black blob so whatever is needed to keep this from happening is really a top priority.

If it will help, the games I'll typically be playing are:
Fallout 3 (PS3)
Modern Warfare 2 and 3 (PS3)
Battlefield 3 (PS3)
Skyrim (PS3)