New Computer For College?

t33lo

Distinguished
Jul 15, 2005
Hello, I am going into college for computer engineering and decided on building a new computer for this summer. I would consider myself a gamer because I can spend a considerable amount of time playing games on the PC. Anyways, I am wondering whether the list I will be providing of what I am going to build will be suitable for my roomate. Basically, I am looking for a case to house the following:
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe Socket 939 MOBO
AMD Athlon 64 4000+ San Diego
Crucial Ballistix 2x512mb PC 3200 2-2-2-6
BFG Nvidia 7800 GTX OC 256MB
Western Digital Raptor 74 GB 10k RPM
NEC Black IDE DVD Burner
ASPIRE ATX-AS520W BLACK ATX 520W Power Supply

I am curious as to which case would keep this not too loud as I do plan on overclocking. Also, I am looking for a case that will keep this cool too. As a first time builder, I am open to many changes excluding the RAM and the video card. Also, I am curious as to which fan configuration will work best whether the stock fans with the case or buying custom ones. Water cooling is currently out of the question. I do plan to overclock this some time in the future as well.

Thanks for even reading all this and do look forward to your comments. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

dunklegend

Distinguished
Apr 7, 2005
The best mobo for OCing is the DFI Lanparty (nforce 4 ultra)and a close second is the Epox (also nforce 4 ultra)

<b><font color=green>Celibacy is not hereditary<font color=green></b>

fate

Distinguished
Jun 6, 2004
Is there any kind of budget limitations for case? If you wanted to go crazy with it, you could spring for one of those superquiet Lian-Li ones. I personally would rather get a 7200 big hard drive but that's all in preference.

If you don't mind me asking, where are you going to school?

dunklegend

Distinguished
Apr 7, 2005