Which monitor to choose?

Almin94

Honorable
Jul 10, 2012
Hello everyone!

Can you help me when choosing a monitor. What is the advantage displays with HDMI. What is the difference between 2ms and 5ms, what is better? I can buy one of the following:

- SAMSUNG S23B300H

- AOC E2343F2

- SAMSUNG S23B300HS

- PHILIPS 248C3LHSW/00

- SAMSUNG S24B300HS

- SAMSUNG T23A350

- HP 2311X

- Dell UltraSharp U2312HM

- PHILIPS 247E3LSU/00

Which to choose?

Thanks in advance! :)

mknabster

Distinguished
Jul 31, 2012
I can't really say which to choose, but i do like Samsungs, I have a 22in 2ms 226BW which is still kicking from 2007 when i got it. Dell Ultrasharps are always a good choice if you can afford them, I have several at home, ranging from 2003-2009, and the color on them is excellent. Another thing about the Ultrasharps too, is that they are actually re-branded Samsungs. HP also makes good monitors, but i have limited experience with them compared to Dell and Samsung.

As for 2ms vs 5ms, the lower the value, the better it handle motion. Like if you are playing a game or watching a movie on a 2ms vs 5ms, there will be less blur since the monitor will be able to handle what it's playing.

For your first question with HDMI, i personally don't see any advantage with having it, unless you are using the monitor as a TV or game system monitor too. But if you have HDMI, it's definitely not a negative to have, so if you get an Ultrasharp and it has HDMI with the other inputs, you can always switch inputs with the onboard button. I would say to look for DVI, since that is the same digital signal that HDMI projects, it just doesn't carry audio like HDMI does, but if the HDMI is going into a monitor without built-in speakers, there's really no point in using it. But it all depends on what kind of graphics card you have the outputs it has on it, be it VGA, DVI, or HDMI.

Let me know if you have any further questions

Almin94

Honorable
Jul 10, 2012

Thank you very much! :D