[WTA] How To Test 2nd Hand PC Monitors?

newb88

Honorable
Jul 16, 2012
Hi,

I'm planning to buy a 2nd hand monitor.

http://www.samsung.com/my/consumer/pc-peripherals-printer/monitor/led-monitor/LS23A950DS/XY-spec

Its a 5~6 month old Samsung S23A950D. It costs USD 60 less than buying a new one.

How do I test the monitor's functionality? :pt1cable:
Kindly suggest softwares to use for testing.

What accessories do I need to fully utilize this monitor? How do I check if the 3D glasses or the cables are still working?

Sorry, I'm a total newbie when it comes to 3D monitors...

Thank you for viewing this thread. :)

newb88

Honorable
Jul 16, 2012

Dear all,
According to Samsung's Instruction Manual, it is recommended to use DVI-D for 3D image viewing.

My gpu, Sapphire 7950, has a pair of mini-DisplayPort 1.2 connectors, a full size HDMI 1.4a output for 3D video (Blu-ray 3D) support, and a dual-link DVI-I.

sapphire-7950-hdmi.jpg

Sapphire 7950's I/O Port

Sapphire 7950 comes with CrossFireX bridge interconnect, a DVI-to-VGA adapter, a pair of 4-pin molex to 6-pin PCIe power adapters, a mini-DisplayPort to DVI adapter, a mini-DisplayPort to HDMI adapter, a HDMI cable.

sapphire-7950-bundle.jpg

Sapphire 7950's Accessories

Image was copied from www.legitreviews.com

Visit Sapphire 7950 OC for more information.

The Samsung monitor have DisplayPort, DVI-D (dual-link) and HDMI I/O Port.

6040230594_0181d9db3b.jpg

Samsung's I/O Port

The image below is the accessories bundled together with the monitor.

6039681711_6cc7ef1a03.jpg

Samsung's Accessories

Picture stolen from Leopard's blog

Do I need to get anymore accessories? :pt1cable:

:fou:
On an unrelated topic, if the CrossFireX bridge interconnect is bent, will it affect anything if I decide to CrossFire in the future?
The CrossFireX bridge interconnect is already bent when I bought the gpu... Maybe I can claim a new CrossFireX bridge from the seller...