Sign in with
Your question

Sound isn't working properly

Last response: in Windows 7
December 27, 2012 5:21:14 AM

Hey everyone, Ive got a really weird problem with my sound on my HP laptop. I'm a noob when it comes to computers, so bear with me. Whenever i try to listen to anything on my computer using headphones, i can hear the music/background noise perfectly clear, but i cant hear the words being spoken, or if i can hear them, they are really faded. Not all the songs on my computer behave this way, however all videos i watch do behave this way.

Here is where it gets weird. Some times, for no apparent reason, some random songs just wont work. When ever i try to play Magical Mystery Tour by the Beatles, for instance, i can't hear any vocals. However when i play Revolver by the Beatles, it sounds normal. It seems to be pretty hit or miss as to what songs will actually play and what won't. I have tried switching out the headphones i was using, but they all behave in the same way.

I don't have this problem what so ever when it comes to listening to songs/videos out of the built in speakers.

Whenever i plug in my headphones into the computer, on the bottom right of my computer, it comes up saying it recognizes that i just plugged in my headphones. However when i go to control panel, hardware and sound, manage audio devices, my headphones don't show up anywhere. The only thing that shows up is speakers. This leads me to believe this might have something to do with it.

Thanks in advance for the help.

More about : sound working properly

December 27, 2012 4:33:18 PM

Try another headset. This will help verify if its a computer/driver issue, or the headset has a problem with the cable.
m
l
a b $ Windows 7
December 27, 2012 4:52:24 PM

Do you have an audio processing/control program installed, like Realtek?
m
l
Related resources
December 27, 2012 10:06:48 PM

Yeah, i have Realtek HD Audio Driver.