JBarnes74

Distinguished
Sep 13, 2005
This is my first time attempting to build a PC. It will primarly be a gamer. I did some research but not to much so if you would take a look at what I have here and let me know what I can change to make it better and maybe even save a few dollars. The case is missing because I intend on going with a water cooled system just haven't looked into which one I want yet. Thanks for your input!

GIGABYTE GA-K8NXP-SLI Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail

ASUS K8N4-E DELUXE Socket 754 NVIDIA nForce4 4X ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail

AOpen 91.05210.45H Geforce 6800GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card - Retail

SEASONIC S12-500 ATX12V 500W Power Supply - Retail

AMD Athlon 64 3400+ Newcastle 800MHz FSB Socket 754 Processor Model ADA3400AXBOX - Retail

GeIL Value 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered Dual Channel Kit System Memory Model GE2GB3200BDC - Retail

Seagate Barracuda 7200.8 ST3400832A-RK 400GB 7200 RPM IDE Ultra ATA100 Hard Drive - Retail

LITE-ON Black IDE DVD Burner Model SOHW-1693S

https://secure.newegg.com/NewVersion/WishList/WishDetail.asp?position=HISTORY&ID=1669620&WishListTitle=First+Timer

endyen

Splendid
A little info for you.
1 the "secure" in the newegg adress means we cant see it
2 I'm sure you know that that chip wont fit on the gigabyte board.
3 S754 is older tech. It may be right for you, if you dont OC, and you dont plan on replacing the chip in a year or two.
4 The s939 venice core chips are better because they have better memory controler, SSE3 support ( okay so that's not a big deal ), and come on 90 nano tech, that runs cooler, and is a little better developed.
5 IMNSHO the X800XL is a better gfx card, but check with the guys in the graphics forum, they know better than me.
6 Come to think of it, I dont much like seasonic or Aopen much either.
7 I'm not usually this negative, is it true that men can get pms to?

K8MAN

Distinguished
Apr 1, 2005