Your question

Processor Overheating, But Stable

Tags:
  • CPUs
  • Computers
  • Processors
Last response: in CPUs
September 26, 2005 8:58:00 AM

I've been working with my system lately, and have been having a few issues.

I am not new to this site, just the forums. So just so no one thinks of me as being new to computers in general, I'll discuss something here now: I'm not new. I've been working with computers for over 10 years, and have been in school 5 years (will finish up college for an associate's degree in IT within the next 2 weeks... woohoo!). I know alot about computers, so, this topic is something that's not really a problem, moreso just something I want to show people.

Anyways, to the subject:

I have an AMD Socket 7 processor, ABIT KD-7 RAID motherboard. The processor's main speed is supposed to be 1.8Ghz. Interestingly enough, my processor has been overheating. I have already checked fans, thermal paste, ect... and everything is fine. However, my tempuratures have far exceeded ANYONE'S expectations of a processor:

http://s95077276.onlinehome.us/Public/overheat228.jpg

Yes. That is 228ºF. I have been running stable at an average of 224ºF for quite some time now, even while running high-end games or programs. I have gotten alot of negative feedback about this, and I'm hoping that coming here means someone will notice that this isn't supposed to happen, and help me prove that it is true in itself. Many people have told me that I am lieing and that there is no one that a processor could possibly get this hot. Well, I'm doing what I can to get any and all backing that this is real... although I'm not sure what else to do other than screenshots.

I'm just wondering what everyone thinks about this, and perhaps if maybe there's a better, more trustworthy way I can prove this.

More about : processor overheating stable

September 26, 2005 9:37:04 AM