Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question

CPU Temp Demons, and VCore Woes.

Last response: in CPUs
Share
October 23, 2005 5:38:41 PM

Lets look at jolly ol asus probe..

oh, system specs:
AMD Athlon XP 2400+
MSI Geforce 6600GT 8x AGP
Some crap motherboard thats max AGP is 4x, I want to shoot it. with a gun. and have it explode, or drive it over with my volvo.
A soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS
Gig of ram, dont remember by who.
a 200gig HDD and a 20 thats sole purpose is running windows.
oh, and too many fans, lets see.
a front drive bay fan. 3x 40mm i think
2 hard drive cooling fan units 2x 40mm (x2)
my CPUs fan <shrug>
a side panel fan i added myself, 80mm i think, have the heat probe sitting on top of the heatsynch <cant i splice the two wires together for maximum rpm all the time?> Side panel is Induction
a rear fan near the CPU : Exhaust.
my Gefore has its own fan,
with a blower below it to expel the hot air out the back.

I think thats it, oh and the 400w supply the cast came with

Asusprobes Unholy and disgusting things its telling me: How my comptuer has lasted years without a single artefact, i dont know.

Current Stats after been on all day:

CPU Temp: 127F, not bad 53C... When i dont have the window open like it is now, it peaks out at 136F, which isnt good.

mobo temp 34C, i like that number..
+12V rail 12.992
+5V rail 5.08
+3.3V rail 3.28
Vcore (this is very bad i think) 1.744

from just reading bits and pieces, that high Vcore requires extra cooling, right? Is there a way i can lower the Vcore without losing processing speed? The heat this thing generates is astronomical, I shouldnt be sweating with just boxers on =/ Im going to either get liquid cooling soon, or If my roommate is generous with her "I can write off any computer from my taxes because i am 'self employed' " I dont think ill have to worry because she'll let me use it for whatever i want <cough> Falcon NW <cough> Or something home built with a bit of friendly guidance =) All i know is this thing is -=crap=- And I really should upgrade the motherboard and processor sometime, and the cooling, likely... The heatsynch came as is, with the little black thing already attached with paste, iirc. I dont like messing with the cpu physically cause its quite a hefty sum and i dont want to be paying 500$ or something for a screw up (atm tho i wouldnt mind if i messed up the current cpu, would be an excuse to buy a new one :p )

Please help me oh wise and powerful Gurus.

And go ahead, call me a noob :o 

All this is STOCK, I havent overclocked anything, afaik.. The Processor is running at 2000Mhz iirc.

Im hoping one of you says Oh, lol, go to bios set this and that and your comp will cool way down and run better =/

Bios is instructing a 1.65 VCore, and the speeds are 15x133/33 ... :( 

<font color=red>Newbie in no time[redd]
<font color=purple>
AMD Athlon XP2400+
MSI 6600GT 128meg
1 Gig DDR Ram
240Gigs HDD space
Soundblaster Audigy 2ZS
</font color=purple>
October 24, 2005 4:34:47 AM

I posted this assuming its a problem, if it isnt ill just go away. :p 

<font color=red>Newbie in no time[redd]
<font color=purple>
AMD Athlon XP2400+
MSI 6600GT 128meg
1 Gig DDR Ram
240Gigs HDD space
Soundblaster Audigy 2ZS
</font color=purple>
October 24, 2005 4:37:24 AM

To start, turn your system off, then turn the switch at the back off. Next, take a horsehair brush, and gently clean all of your components.
All clean? Good, now you should be able to see the name on the mobo. We really cant do much for you without knowing that.
By the way, check to see if your power supply has a fan on the bottom. If not, get one that does.
Related resources
October 24, 2005 6:12:20 AM

Oh, my bad.

ASUS A7V266-E Via KT266A DDR Motherboard!

<hehe> {with KT266A chipset and 3 DDR DIMM sockets, the ASUS A7V266-E Delivers an ideal platform that spells out power and productivity)

Didnt need to clean, just snagged box.


No, the powersupply is just an inside fan, the rear is seized <commits hari-kiri>

Up-to date bios.

<font color=red>Newbie in no time[redd]
<font color=purple>
AMD Athlon XP2400+
MSI 6600GT 128meg
1 Gig DDR Ram
240Gigs HDD space
Soundblaster Audigy 2ZS
</font color=purple>
<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by Keeperhet on 10/24/05 02:16 AM.</EM></FONT></P>
October 24, 2005 6:25:07 AM

Case temperature? How would i test that? I dont have any difital thermometers, just what asusprobe tells me
which is CPU at 137F (57C) and Mobo at 98F, 37C



<font color=red>Newbie in no time[redd]
<font color=purple>
AMD Athlon XP2400+
MSI 6600GT 128meg
1 Gig DDR Ram
240Gigs HDD space
Soundblaster Audigy 2ZS
</font color=purple>
October 24, 2005 8:44:13 AM

MBM5? Motherboard monitor? <guess>


DLIng./ installing..

Case is 96F, that sounds right on.
holy ****. -12v rail at -15.94 ??? huh, now its at -13.66

Edit : thats what asus tells me my motherboard temp is, but yea ambient can get into the 90s here cause my dad is a thermostat jerk. he hates wasting electricity on a/c

<font color=red>Newbie in no time[redd]
<font color=purple>
AMD Athlon XP2400+
MSI 6600GT 128meg
1 Gig DDR Ram
240Gigs HDD space
Soundblaster Audigy 2ZS
</font color=purple>
<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by Keeperhet on 10/24/05 04:57 AM.</EM></FONT></P>
October 24, 2005 10:28:56 AM

And don't worry about the negative voltages. -12V or -5V rails are not used in your comp.
October 24, 2005 10:39:52 AM

Now I'm wondering if there are any components anymore in a PC that are using -12V or -5V. I mean a non-ISA system.
Hmm...
a b à CPUs
October 24, 2005 12:05:20 PM

Even though youwere able to get the mobo info, you should still clean the interior of the case. A clean system is a happy system - cooler and less of a fire hazard.

With that many small fans in your rig it must be Loud, Whiny biatch. I'd replace some of those smaller fans. Put one 92mm or 120mm fan in the front for intake and one in the rear for exhaust - get good quality fans like Panaflos. Replace the PSU - something like this <A HREF="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E1681..." target="_new">Fortron 400W</A> should be enough for your purposes.

<font color=blue>(\__/)
(='.'=)This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into
(")_(")your signature to help him gain world domination. </font color=blue>
October 24, 2005 4:53:06 PM

Im going to redo my comp around christmas, new mobo, new case, new processor http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merchant2/merchant.mv?Sc... and this comp i want to keep very clean, ill wrap the cords in the plastic coil stuff, and use rounded IDE(?) Cables, also might go into liquid cooling, but i'll take it in stages, if i can afford liquid, cool :p 
and def. replace PSU

<coughs> <hacks> <coughs> Wow, well, i burned through the first long shot of air in a can (it "runs empty" if you use it a lot all at once, but then i can come back tomorrow and have 15 seconds of it still in there, peculiar thing :)  ) gawd, that was a lot of dust, hehe

<font color=red>Newbie in no time[redd]
<font color=purple>
AMD Athlon XP2400+
MSI 6600GT 128meg
1 Gig DDR Ram
240Gigs HDD space
Soundblaster Audigy 2ZS
</font color=purple>
<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by Keeperhet on 10/24/05 12:57 PM.</EM></FONT></P>
a b à CPUs
October 24, 2005 5:03:26 PM

ROFL - I figured you might be a little dusty in there! Be really thorough on cleaning the dust off of the HSF and the other case fans (especially the intake/exhaust areas for the fans).

*Steam rising*
|<font color=red>(\__/)</font color=red>|
|<font color=red>(='.'=)</font color=red>|
|<font color=red>(")_(")</font color=red>|
~~~~~
October 24, 2005 5:20:20 PM

heh, using canned air on the fans is entertaining.. jeez, if i had another person and we had a can in each hand we could probably make a song, my psu's fan was the highest spinning when hit with air, Went BRrrrrRRRRRRRRmmmmm!! :p 
yea im letting the propelant settle so i have more air.

bunny <3

oh, one more thing, that Vcore is normal?

<font color=red>Newbie in no time[redd]
<font color=purple>
AMD Athlon XP2400+
MSI 6600GT 128meg
1 Gig DDR Ram
240Gigs HDD space
Soundblaster Audigy 2ZS
</font color=purple>
<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by Keeperhet on 10/24/05 01:28 PM.</EM></FONT></P>
a b à CPUs
October 24, 2005 5:34:34 PM

Those XPs can take a higher Vcore than 1.744V, but where did you get that reading? Check the reading in the BIOS - that should be the most accurate. I'm not familiar with that mobos BIOS settings, but Vcore can usually be adjusted in the BIOS if you need to turn it down some.

*Steam rising*
|<font color=red>(\__/)</font color=red>|
|<font color=red>(='.'=)</font color=red>|
|<font color=red>(")_(")</font color=red>|
~~~~~
BUNNY STEW FOR DINNER!!
October 24, 2005 7:33:54 PM

Its informed to run at 1.65, but both MBM5 and Asusprobe tell me 1.744



<font color=red>Newbie in no time[redd]
<font color=purple>
AMD Athlon XP2400+
MSI 6600GT 128meg
1 Gig DDR Ram
240Gigs HDD space
Soundblaster Audigy 2ZS
</font color=purple>
October 25, 2005 12:47:46 AM

hehe. I suppose i should make a new thread about peoples opinions on the AMD 64 4000 san diego core.. :p 

wait,! First i could -search-! yes! of course!

<font color=red>Newbie in no time[redd]
<font color=purple>
AMD Athlon XP2400+
MSI 6600GT 128meg
1 Gig DDR Ram
240Gigs HDD space
Soundblaster Audigy 2ZS
</font color=purple>
October 25, 2005 2:57:22 AM

Most of us think the 4000+ is a wonderfull chip. We just think that it's not worth the price, esp since the 3700 SD can be clocked as high.
a b à CPUs
October 25, 2005 3:06:58 AM

my 3200 vinnie is matching a fx-55 with 2.75GHZ lol... its a .75GHZ OC on a stock cooler, but boy is it loud!! (need an xp-120 and a 120mm fan that could be run slowly)

AMD A64 3200+Venice @2.65GHZ
DFI Lanparty UT NF4 Ultra-D
OCZ 2x512mb EL Gold VX PC3200 ram 2-2-2-8
evga eGeforce 6800GT 256mb GDDR3 ram
Enermax 485W PSU
Bios 6/23
Windows XP SP2
October 25, 2005 7:54:08 AM

Haven't seen much at all. I think someone over @ anandtech has one. Someone else there has a s939 dual core opteron as well. They seem to be really hard to come by, and so not much news.
a b à CPUs
October 26, 2005 2:27:33 AM

ppl at DFI street are saying they are getting mad OCs with these s939 optrons....
<A HREF="http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/showthread.php?t=26642" target="_new">here</A>

AMD A64 3200+Venice @2.65GHZ
DFI Lanparty UT NF4 Ultra-D
OCZ 2x512mb EL Gold VX PC3200 ram 2-2-2-8
evga eGeforce 6800GT 256mb GDDR3 ram
Enermax 485W PSU
Bios 6/23
Windows XP SP2
October 27, 2005 1:11:11 AM

Well, in closing <mods lock thread plz> id like to thank you guys, im gonna be saving 100$ on the cpu and will overclock it, because with the money im saving from cpu i can afford to get water cooling <ill also save money from not needing cord control / airflow>

thanks.

<font color=red>Newbie in no time[redd]
<font color=purple>
AMD Athlon XP2400+
MSI 6600GT 128meg
1 Gig DDR Ram
240Gigs HDD space
Soundblaster Audigy 2ZS
</font color=purple>
a b à CPUs
October 28, 2005 2:09:26 AM

i really need a 19 inch monitor..... or heck a 17 inch one would be nice......

AMD A64 3200+Venice @2.65GHZ
DFI Lanparty UT NF4 Ultra-D
OCZ 2x512mb EL Gold VX PC3200 ram 2-2-2-8
evga eGeforce 6800GT 256mb GDDR3 ram
Enermax 485W PSU
Bios 6/23
Windows XP SP2
!