Status
Not open for further replies.

rmbelson

Distinguished
May 20, 2003
I'm fairly new at this, so excuse my lack of knowledge. I built my first PC a year or so ago. Now and then my system just gets clogged. If, for example, I am using Lame to compress a 51MB wav file on my G drive into an Mp3 file on the same drive, I use up 100% of my cpu and can do nothing else. Ditto for other math intensive programs. I was expecting better performance from this setup.

Do I need more Ram? Do I need a different CPU? Have I connected my hard drives to the wrong places - I have a PCI IDE controller card and 2 of the drives go in there, one to the mainboard. And I can't remember which goes where. Does it matter? Thanks for the help. Below is a report on my system from CPU-Z. I also have SiSoft Sandra and can run any test therein, just ask.

Onward, RMB

CPU-Z Report
CPU-Z version 1.30.

CPU(s)
Number of CPUs 1
Name AMD Athlon XP
Code Name Barton
Specification AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2500+
Family / Model / Stepping 6 A 0
Extended Family / Model 7 A
Package Socket A
Technology 0.13 µ
Supported Instructions Sets MMX, Extended MMX, 3DNow!, Extended 3DNow!, SSE
CPU Clock Speed 1829.9 MHz
Clock multiplier x 11.0
Front Side Bus Frequency 166.4 MHz
Bus Speed 332.7 MHz
L1 Data Cache 64 KBytes, 2-way set associative, 64 Bytes line size
L1 Instruction Cache 64 KBytes, 2-way set associative, 64 Bytes line size
L2 Cache 512 KBytes, 16-way set associative, 64 Bytes line size
L2 Speed 1829.9 MHz (Full)
L2 Location On Chip
L2 Data Prefetch Logic yes
L2 Bus Width 64 bits

Mainboard and chipset
Motherboard manufacturer ASUSTeK Computer INC.
Motherboard model A7N8X2.0, REV 2.xx
BIOS vendor Phoenix Technologies, LTD
BIOS revision ASUS A7N8X2.0 Deluxe ACPI BIOS Rev 1005
BIOS release date 05/14/2003
Chipset nVidia nForce2 Ultra 400 rev. C1
Southbridge nVidia nForce2 MCP-T rev. A4
Sensor chip Asus ASB100
Graphic Interface AGP
AGP Status enabled, rev. 2.0
AGP Data Transfer Rate 4x
AGP Max Rate 4x