Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Can't acess my user acct win 7 starts a new temp user account

Tags:
Last response: in Windows 7
December 29, 2012 6:50:25 PM

Hello Tom's

I'm sure someone is familar with this problem, i start my pc up (from being off) and get logged into a temp user profile.
It tells me that i cannot acess my user profile and all information will be deleted on logging out.
I've looked online for a soloution but none work for me ,I really dont know how to resolve this problem,I have limited knowledge and computer skills.
Any help would be great ,i really dont want to scrap this drive and start over.
a b $ Windows 7
December 29, 2012 6:59:38 PM

It would appear that you normally get your user account settings via a Roaming profile (on a network, typically) and it cannot communicate with the domain controller so therefore it's giving you a temp account. :) 
m
l
Related resources
a b $ Windows 7
December 29, 2012 7:15:56 PM

If it is indeed trying to use a Roaming Profile, it should still work and not have that problem, and load the locally-stored copy of the profile and get updated when you connect to the domain. Ie.

You can check if the locally-stored profile is a roaming profile and change if necesary here: 1. Go to Control Panel > All Control Panel Items > Systems (or right click on “Computer” and then click on Properties.

2. Click on Advanced System Settings from the left side panel.

3. Click Advanced Tab and under User Profiles click Settings

4. Click on the profile you are using and click on Change Type…

5. Select Local Profile > click Ok > Restart and see if that fixes it for you.
m
l
a b $ Windows 7
December 29, 2012 7:38:37 PM

It seems you account may be corrupt. A domain account will allow you to log in even if you're not on the network(can't see a domain controller) - you just won't pick up any changes to group policy or map any drives, but you will be able to log in to your profile normally.