Your question

Pentium 4 FPU (long and technical)

Last response: in CPUs
Anonymous
a b à CPUs
November 23, 2000 4:27:35 PM

Disclaimer:
===========
The following is informed speculation on the Pentium 4's FPU performance based on publically available developer documentation provided by Intel.
===========

I've just read Tom's latest benchmarks and comments on the Intel Pentium 4's FPU - the results are disappointing but, in some ways, not entirely surprising. Let me explain:-

I work as a developer for music software company FXpansion Audio; in our corner of the industry, FPU is the_most_important factor determining software performance, and our code tends to have a lot of hand-optimised x87 FPU assembler code.

When writing this code, we of course target the P6-core; most of the time, the Athlon's characteristics are similar enough that with its better overall performance it can equal the P6-core clock for clock even on P6-targeted code.

However, the P4 is a very different kettle of fish, and here's why. Floating point uses, mostly, the FADD/FSUB and FMUL instruction; others like FDIV are used as little as possible, as they're slow anyway. It's FADD and FMUL performance that's the key for fast floating point.

Now, these instructions are quite complex, and it takes several clock cycles before the result of a calculation pops out the other end of the FPU pipeline ready to be used. For example,
a = a + (b * c)
The processor can't do the "a = a +" part - a FADD - until it knows the outcome of (b * c) - a FMUL. The time it takes for this outcome to be known is called latency, and is measured in clock cycles. However, while this is happening, it _can_ do _other_ calculations, which don't need that result (like "e = (f * g)") - that's what pipelining is "all about".

For a PPro/2/3 (P6-core), the FMUL latency is 5, and the FADD latency is 3. So, a typical piece of P6-code might be

temp = b * c // FMUL, latency 5
do_something_else
do_something_else
do_something_else