Which CPU?

WhiteWidow

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
I am considering upgrading my computer in the next couple of months and wondering what is the best bundle to go for? At the minute I think I am aiming for an AMD chip but open to suggestions.
I will need the upgraded processing power for my 3D work in 3D Studio Max r3 and for general web and CD based work.
I am a degree student in the UK and cost is an issue, I am currently considering an overclocked Duron 800 to 1Ghz. Should I be aiming higher to future proof my system??

Suggestions much appreciated
J (AKA Whitewidow)

Atman

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
If you are looking a couple of months down the road, then wait a bit. Look at the new 760 w/ DDR support. I don't know the prices, but that seems a more "future-proof" way to go... OTH .. future proofing nowadays means you will still be using it in 2 months.
Just finished a Abit KT7-Raid (0) setup with two 30GB IBM /100 drives, 256MB PC-133 from Crucial, 900MHz Thunderbird, and an Oxygen vid card for Photoshop...wish I would have added more ram...I knew better. But it still performs very well.

But...and it chaps me to say this....you may want to look into an intel sollution as they do extemely well for the type of apps you are running.

but then again, you did mention a budget. compare your prices...by the time you add in your hotdog coolling monster heatsink/fans/liquid nitrogen/whatever you choose, to your Duron, you will be getting close to the Thunderbird prices. Just a thought....
Have Fun
Atman

'howz that for an indecisive decision?' :cool:

phsstpok

Splendid
Dec 31, 2007
I just posted the following to another user:

This is what I am in the process of putting together.

Abit KT7 RAID motherboard, Duron 600 Mhz, (pretested to 1000 Mhz), and OCZ Monster II Heatsink and fan. $217 for the combo (from OCZ.SAFESHOPPER.COM)

128 MB pc-133 RAM, $75, from the same source.