Your question

K6-2+ 500 boot problem

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
Anonymous
a b à CPUs
November 26, 2000 8:35:17 AM

My situation is as follows:

I have a Flagpoint Motherboard, that uses the VIA MVP3 chipset. It has 100mhz, 2.0 v. support. I have been running a k6-2 350 with it for two years now..

So I plugged my new k6-2+ to the board, it begins to boot, shows the processor as "Unknown-S CPU at xxx MHZ", it checks memory ok (but doesn's go to bios by pressing DEL, istead it aborts the memory check with it, as if pressing ESC). When it has checked memory, it shows the "Award Plug&play BIOS extension v. 1.0A"-text, flashes the "lock"-lights on my keyboard (as it should) and tehn freezes totally.

I have tested all multipliers from 200 mhz (2.5X gives me 200 for some reason) to 589MHZ (meaning multiplier 2X), but it always freezes at the same point. Also, the multipliers 4.5 and 5.0 seem to hold the cpu at 400 mhz (thta being the official manual supported cpu, even though there is larger multipliers shown)

Flagpoint has apparently disappeared from earth (and internet), and I have a bios from last year I think, that I havent flashed yet, as the README-file shows no fixes that would seem helpful (mainly some cosmetic stuff)So there is no official support from Flagpoint, as there is NO support whatsoever!

My current BIOS is 591PWIQ9 And I have a two steps newer BIOS on disc, that being 591PWIQB, But even that is from last year.

I have also tried following these advices that I got elsewhere:
1. Set the voltage to 2.1 volts.
2. In bios setups, set "Halt on errors" to "None"
3. Set "System bios cacheable" to "disabled".
4. Run at lower speeds

So How will I get my PC to boot up? I would greatly appreciate any help or hints you guys might have. And don't hesitate to ask for more detailed info about my system if I forgot to mention something!

Thanks in advance,

Raoul

More about : 500 boot problem

November 26, 2000 9:17:44 AM