Sign in with
Your question

Virtualization from old parts

Last response: in Business Computing
April 18, 2012 3:43:14 PM

Hi Pros,

I posted this first in homebuilt, but it might be a bit beyond that forum. I'm hoping one of you might help with some guidance or advice.

I am looking for some advice on utilizing some old parts.

First off this is a home server and serves mostly for me to educate myself; nevertheless I would like to get something stable. I am relatively new to computers, but a very quick study.

The primary function will be a file server, but I would like to do some virtualizing. I would like to be able to virtualize all the computers in my home eventually, but there is no panic.

I have an old IBM x3650 (8 2.5" SAS bays) with dual Xeon 5355 quads, but no drives.

I have a Chenbro RM414T with 16XSATA hot swap drive bays with 11 500 GB sata drives, but have Supermicro PDSGE with a Pentium D 820. It also has 2 x RAID Core 4852.

I'd like to build a virtualizing machine out of what I have any thoughts on a cost effective approach?

I'm guessing those raid cards aren't going to work with ESXi, any thoughts on a reasonably priced card that will?

Also what do you think the minimum RAM should be? I expect to run up to 4 win 7 (but not all at once), one WHS, maybe a free NAS or something else.

Are my ambitions reasonable?

Cheers

More about : virtualization parts

April 18, 2012 4:00:25 PM

Why would the raid cards not work? If this is all put together just do it.. and you could easily run all of your vm's at once I have 5 running on a i7 laptop with 12 gigs or ram. I guess I dont understand exactly what info you are looking for. You have plenty power in the cpus you will need about 2 gigs of ram per VM you want to run at the same time with a min of 8 gigs.

Thent
April 18, 2012 4:06:40 PM

I am wondering what the best approach to combining this set of hardware would be...