Is computer science a good option for me?

jessicad96

Honorable
Sep 5, 2012
I'm in the eleventh grade and I was thinking of doing computer science after my 12th.

The thing is I'm really not sure if its a good idea for me because I have never done programming before so I'm not sure if its something I will enjoy.

I wanted to do something with technology but I'm not sure what. I always wanted to design websites and other things and people told me do computer science.

I was also confused if I should do a minor in computer science and major in business. Is that a good option?

Thanks a lot!!

chugot9218

Honorable
Look into an Information Technology program, very highly sought after major and I assume most schools (mine did at least) offer paths through the major that are less programming heavy. For example, I did much more in SQL than I did in any other programming language, although I had the option to specialize in Databases, Network Security, or Programming/Development.

unoriginal1

Distinguished
Apr 11, 2012
After high school going into college your going to have to get your basics before even worrying about a specific degree. Most people change their desired degrees at least 3 to 4 times while in school. When you start your Gen Ed classes take a graphic arts class like Photoshop 101 and take a basic networking, database, programming class from the Computer Science field. The best way to learn if it's what you want to do is dive in and see if you enjoy what your learning. Myself... I started with computer science switched to graphic arts got an associates then switched back to computer science and finished with an emphasis on networking. This was all after starting college going into facilities management :). Your young and have many many options available. Just start playing around and see what your niche is ;).

price_th

Distinguished
Jan 29, 2012