Building New System w/ Budget - Need Advice

Maniac

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
Hi all, this is my first time to post here.

I'll get straight to the point. I have about a $1200 budget and want to build a new machine. If anyone could help me come up with some configurations that could meet this budget it would be much appreciated. I'm assuming that it will be best to go with an Athlon with the budget. I'm a gamer so I also want to get a good vid card in there. However, I think the most important thing will be the motherboard and CPU, as everything else can be upgraded with ease. This is only my second system to build from scratch (last being 4 years ago so I'm kind of out of the know). Any and all help appreciated!

-sean

phsstpok

Splendid
Dec 31, 2007
To make your budget you will probably have to set some priorities but you can purchase quite a lot for $1200. I was on a tighter budget than you, about $500, but I did, however, have parts I could re-use.

I don't have much more experience building computers from scratch than you so I'll just tell you what I built. You will probably want to work up from that as a starting point.

I bought an Abit KT7 motherboard, an overclocked Duron, and a Monster II heatsink/fan as a package deal. It cost $218 from OCZ.SAFESHOPPER.COM. From the same place I bought 128 MB of OCZ Select PC-133 memory guaranteed to run CAS2 at 133 Mhz and CAS3 at 150Mhz for $75 (now $69. See www.madonion.com for a review of the memory and the Monster II HSF).