slvr_phoenix

Splendid
Dec 31, 2007
Okay, I've got a few questions relating to the CPU.
I've worked on computers all my life. (Ever since I had a C=64 at age 7.) I can build a PC from scratch with one hand tied behind my back. I can overclock with the best of them. And I've been a C/C++/MFC coder for five years. So I KNOW computers.

But I realised the other day that one thing still baffles me.

What in the world are a FSB and multiplier in terms of physics? I know how they work to calculate a computer's speed. But what I don't know is what the physics relationship is between them. HOW do they make the computer faster?

And another completely unrelated but still on topic question:
Everyone knows that the new Celerons are just P3s with half of the cache disabled. I don't have a problem with Intel doing this because they're a business and out to make money. So I can even respect them for doing it instead of just lowering the prices of P3s to that of the Celerons.

But does anyone know how to re-enable that half of the cache so that you can buy a P3 at a Celeron price? Now THAT would be useful information.

- Sanity is purely based on point-of-view.

lrmv

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
Did you also program in assembler? Only THEN you know computers!

It may very well be that half of the cache is disabled because of a defect on the chip. This way the chip can still be sold at a lower price instead of trashing it.
Of course I'm just guessing on this, but I know some manufacturers of memory chips (did) use this practice.

slvr_phoenix

Splendid
Dec 31, 2007
I had the joy of upgrading 16-bit x86 assembler code to 32 bit x86 assembler code. Even though I only worked in it for six months, I did have the joy(?) of working in it.