HP DM4 vs Macbook Pro?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Whipitgood

Distinguished
Dec 4, 2010
Hey everyone, hopefully this isn't an inappropriate question to ask here. I'm a college student who is going to buy a laptop in the very near future for use at school - hopefully during a Christmas sale. I have had only good experiences with HP so far, and I have irrational brand loyalty, so I have narrowed my choice down to an HP DM4 with upgrades to 6GB RAM, 500GB HD, a core i5 CPU, and the available GPU upgrade.

Here's the thing though, Macs have MUCH higher reliability in consumer reports, and everyone that I know that has one LOVES it. And I know that they are more reliable, and have lower failure rates, etc... but they're pricy, and I don't really like the Mac OS.

What do you all think?

I can't afford to spend more than $900-$1000 - hopefully less than that. And I figure that if I am going to spend this much for a laptop, I might as well get one that will last long-term, do some light gaming (WoW with medium settings), and have the potential to serve as a viable computer replacement if something should happen to my desktop.

I'm torn. Continue ahead as planned with my customized HP DM4, or try to find an affordable Macbook. What do you all think of the two?

Link to the HP before customization:

http://www.shopping.hp.com/webapp/series/category/notebooks/dm4t_series/3/computer_store

Klosteral

Distinguished
Jun 29, 2009
Question:
What do you plan to be doing with your computer? The MacBook is useful for Graphic Design and Audio Production but the HP DM4 will be better suited to *everything else*.

MacBooks are nowhere near as reliable as people say they are; I have a MacBook and I find it immensely confusing and underperforming, nothing like my user-friendly Windows 7 powered PC.

Get the HP. You will regret buying the Mac; they are too restrictive.

-Klosteral

mikel96413

Distinguished
Sep 9, 2008