Help choosing? BenQ GW2450, Dell Ultrasharp U2312HM or..?

Eibhilin

Honorable
Jun 19, 2012
At present I have a Samsung SyncMaster P2770H. It's a great display, but for a second rig I want something that has a higher static contrast ratio and better color. Shooting to find two 24" displays but the part of me that desperately wants an IPS (despite otherwise glossy preferences) is kind of eating at me.

My budget is in the range of around $220~ each.

These will primarily be used for design/3d work, though I do spend a fair amount of time gaming. I would like something with a decent refresh (ghosting does bother me but not a lot unless it's bad). I'd like the best color accuracy/blacks for the money, but size is also a consideration.

What I'm looking at:
BenQ GW2450
Asus VS248H-P
Asus ML249H
Dell UltraSharp U2312HM

I'm leaning VA at this point, but I can't really find any reviews on the BenQ GW2450. On paper this seems to hit the closest to what I'm looking for. The best I've found regarding this monitor was a thread on hardocp that seemed... to make it seem fairly lackluster. Anyone have any experiences with the BenQ? Otherwise, any feedback or suggestions?

Solution
One last thing to consider...

LCD monitors with LED backlight actually use blue LEDs with a yellow phosphorus coating to imitate white. Sometimes this white imitation comes of slightly bluish which is why you may see some reviews of "LED monitors" having a slightly bluish hue. Naturally this throws off color accuracy if that is important to you. This is not the case with all "LED monitors", but it's good to know the drawbacks of LED backlight.
Well... first of all the BenQ GW2450 is a relatively inexpensive monitor and all LCD panel technologies have it's strength and weaknesses. If you step up to an Eizo monitor you will likely get a better monitor at a higher price. But higher prices will also likely mean more critical reviews because of higher expectations.