Intel Celeron 800MHz CPU

G

I am no gearhead so please excuse the naivite . . .
First question: I read somewhere about a 100MHz bus Celeron 800MHz CPU just coming out. But I can't seem to find it anywhere for sale.
Second question: Will it fit my motherboard, an FIC VA-503+ ? And am I asking for trouble in putting it in myself?
Third question: Do I want it? My reasoning for going to a Celeron to upgrade is this. I am an author who writes 700 page monsters with up to 5 footnotes on each page. My notebook is a Celeron 366MHz and it compares favorably with the performance of my desktop AMD K6-2 300 in text processing, especially generating the innumerable cross references and tables of authorities and all that, even though the desktop has 3 times more RAM. So I figure there must be something about the architecture of it that loves the kind of work I do.

Thanks. Bill

LTJLover

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
Unfortunately your current board will not support the new generation of CPUs including the Celeron 800 and AMD Duron/Athlon. I believe you are mistaken when talking about your celeron being a "superior architecture." In fact, Intel's newest celeron (800) is a good 30% slower than AMD's fastest Duron offering for double the money. If you are looking for a cheap upgrade, I would suggest purchasing the new generation of AMD's K6-3 or K6-2. They go up to around 500MHz and can be bought for around 50-60 bucks. These will work on your motherboard and significantly speed you up. Otherwise I would say get a new AMD motherboard and a duron or athlon.

Jon
"Water-Cooled CPU Runner"

G

The new Celerons do indeed run at 100hz bus, but they are going to be a 733hz, should be good to see if they have finally cranked some power from the sucker

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff