cable running slower in linux than windows?!??!

zazoo

Distinguished
Sep 26, 2001
I am having problems with my high speed internet running under red hat 7.1 and i was hoping somebody out there could help me out.
Basically the problem is download speed... for example under a windows ftp connection (with the windows box plugged into the cable modem) my download rate goes at 350k/s (which is normal for my provider). When i attempt the same download from linux (this time with the linux box connected to the cable modem) the download rate is a pathetic 94k/s. I am no expert by any means at tweaking networking in linux, but i do know that it IS capable of running at high speed, because my LAN always runs at at least 3MB /s. it just seems to be the internet connection. But, as i said, when the internet is plugged to the windows machine it seems ok.. does anyone have any ideas???
thanks a lot!!

Zazoo.

leebrownusa

Distinguished
Jun 27, 2002
I'd be checking the simple items first, such as NIC speed and duplex settings. Alot of NIC's are setup to be auto sensing and sometimes that doesn't work right properly.

zazoo

Distinguished
Sep 26, 2001
ok well that sounds like a promising start... how do i verify the settings of the NIC exactly? is it through ifconfig or something else?

Zazoo.

leebrownusa

Distinguished
Jun 27, 2002
The ifconfig could tell you if you are experiencing alot of collisions on this NIC in this machine and that could be important clue to determine if you have a speed/duplex mismatch. I don't believe it will tell you the speed/duplex of the NIC. Not knowing what kind of NIC I would suspect there is a setup program a person could get on a floppy to manually determine and/or manually set the parameters on the NIC. I am not a Linux expert so past that is anyone out there that knows if a conf file in Linux would need adjustment if a user manually set their NIC to 100MB/Full duplex? Sorry I don't have that part of the puzzle.

zazoo

Distinguished