Your question

Dead System???? :(

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
Anonymous
a b à CPUs
February 20, 2001 10:49:18 PM

Ok, here's the deal...

Its my first time building a computer and I somehow managed to fry my Athlon CPU (smoke came out and it was discolored). Im going to assume that it was because of an improperly mounted heatsink/fan. I send the thing back to AMD, but what i need to know is how to tell if the Mobo is ok? If i try to start it without the processor (its an A7V) its gives a constant stream of beeps. Is this an indication that the motherboard is otherwise working fine. If not, how can i tell if it is ok??

Thanks In advance-

Pier Posthumus

More about : dead system

Anonymous
a b à CPUs
February 20, 2001 11:01:42 PM

The mobo should be fine... but for gods sake don't start it without the processor!!!

Anyway, if it beeps it has not fried.

SEARCH FIRST, THEN POST
Anonymous
a b à CPUs
February 20, 2001 11:20:56 PM

Thats strange, because in (dont laugh) the complete idiots guide to upgrading Pc's, it said to always start it first without the processor/ram/etc because that way if it is broken, it wont fry any of the parts. Oh well, anyways thanx for your help!!!

Thanks In advance-

Pier Posthumus
Related resources
February 21, 2001 12:14:29 AM

How long did you have it running before the smoke started pouring out?

Wherever you go, there you are.
Anonymous
a b à CPUs
February 21, 2001 12:26:05 AM

did you use that little hook thingy on the Heat Sink Fan so that it is like attached to the chip :) ...also...did you remember to power it?

=Quantum
AO Admin
The Dr.Twister Network
http://ao.drtwister.com
Anonymous
a b à CPUs
February 21, 2001 11:35:52 AM

But if you start the mobo without ram or cpu, how do you know it works? The beeps? And if it beeps and some component has fried?

SEARCH FIRST, THEN POST
February 21, 2001 4:37:00 PM

ROFL @ YOU!

KEEP BUYING ADM system.

What thermal issue?? I thought that the mobo was supposed to shut down! GFG