Sign in with
Your question

1.2, 1.13 & 1gb 266mhz FSB

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
Anonymous
a b à CPUs
February 23, 2001 3:25:13 AM

Hello, this is my first post, i am still learning a great deal of computer things, so please bare with me...
I just saw the new AMD T-Bird chips with the 266mhz FSB, I believe these are used to take advantage of the DDR capabilities. But i am still confused, and maybe this should be posted in the Motherboard forum, so please dont flame me...I was looking at the new KT133A chipsets to allow higher FSB settings, but now that the New 1.2, 1.13 and 1 gb chips are out with the 266mhz FSB, or maybe im not undering standing the 266mhz part of the new chips available. Are these new CPU's used for DDR based Motherboards? Or if you used the KT133A chipset, would you be waisting your money on getting the new CPU's with the 266mhz capability?..Also, i was reading, is the AMD 761 chipset the newest and better than the 760 chipset..I would think so, being its 761 insteadof 760..But im still learning...Anyway, im trying to build a fast as Hell Gaming system, and i just wanna make sure i do it right, and if i get the response im looking for, i will probably go with the new AMD 1.2gb 266mhz T-Bird with either the ASUS A7M266 DDR motherboard, or The Gigabyte DDR, or the MSI K7 Master S..Please all info is help no matter how little...Thanks

More about : 1gb 266mhz fsb

Anonymous
a b à CPUs
February 23, 2001 8:05:56 AM

out if the MB' you listed go with the Asus and yes go with the AMD chipset... but if you have a browse on the Mb section of this site you will see all of the MB's head to head. last and of course not least good luck with your PC but post all of your parts here for a final check over ........

M

UK Prices are <font color=red>toooooooooo</font color=red> high , keep competition going to bring em down :smile:
February 23, 2001 9:42:00 AM

kt133a allows for the fsb to work at true 133fsb, 266ddr.