Graphics card or genera pc problem??

Tags:
  • Thunder
  • Graphics Cards
  • Windows 7
Last response: in Windows 7
January 9, 2013 8:34:24 AM

Hello,
there was a lot of thunder last night. I think lightening struck close by and the screen flickered. Its now displaying a strong purple color and i can barely see..please help me.

More about : graphics card genera problem

a b U Graphics card
January 9, 2013 8:48:01 AM

Does it have on board graphics or do you have another video card or monitor you can try?
-Bruce
m
l
January 9, 2013 9:09:16 AM

Im a noob by the way so ya. Okay its Graphics card is a Nvidia Geforce GT520. 1 GB DDR3...Ive tried a different monitor on it but its still pink
m
l
Related resources
Can't find your answer ? Ask !
January 9, 2013 9:13:09 AM

i mean purple...can a lightening strike close by really damage a graphics card or visual system of any sort?? anyway im also thinking maybe the graphics card driver automatically updated? or WINDOWS 7? I dont know...thanks for your feedback by the way..im panicking.
m
l
January 9, 2013 9:50:59 AM

Update,I have no different graphics card i can try..and the PC came with the Nvidia on board as a promotion of sorts...Im scared to remove it..should i still do it?
m
l
a b $ Windows 7
a b U Graphics card
January 9, 2013 11:31:46 AM

If there was a power surge from the strike, then yes, some damage may have resulted. The only way to be sure will be to test your card in another system, or borrow a card to test in your system.
m
l
January 9, 2013 1:26:36 PM

Herr_Koos said:
If there was a power surge from the strike, then yes, some damage may have resulted. The only way to be sure will be to test your card in another system, or borrow a card to test in your system.

is it possible to try it without the graphics card?
m
l
a b U Graphics card
January 9, 2013 1:28:14 PM

Yes if it has onboard graphics - if that works it will be bad news for your video card.
-Bruce
m
l
January 9, 2013 1:31:27 PM