Sign in with
Your question

Starting a server company.

Last response: in Business Computing
April 26, 2012 7:19:04 PM

hi everyone,

I'm looking to start up a server company to host game servers,voip servers etc.

I have a pretty good of an idea of what i may need but i'm no expert. Thought i would post on here and get a better idea of what i may need. i'm on a budget of about $10,000 to start could possibly get more if needed. I'm also willing to pay people for there services. graphic design, coding etc.

- What kind of computers do i need, there spec's etc.
- Bandwidth needed.
- Good locations for servers.
- Anything else i would need.

thanks in advance.

April 26, 2012 7:57:57 PM

dustin3999 said:
I have a pretty good of an idea of what i may need but i'm no expert.

Hire an expert and build a business plan. This will minimize your risk and maximize win potential.

You have not provided enough information on your situation for anyone to give you enough advice to help you. I architect enterprise application solutions and would tell you to go back to the drawing board and come to the table with more details. Some questions to ask yourself:

- who is your target audience?
- where is your target audience?
- who is your competition and what do they bring to the table?
- is there enough people in the gaming world to provide a profitable audience given all the similar solutions out there?
- can you be cost competitive?
- have you performed a cost benefit analysis?
- what software are you going to use?
- maximum concurrent connections expected?
- what are the hardware requirements for the software?
- if you expect X number of users with your software what type of hardware will you need?
- do you need high availability (24x7, redundancy, co-location, etc)?
- who will provide 24x7 support for your paying customers?
- How much will this support cost, has it been worked in to your pricing model?