Tags:
  • CPUs
  • Processors
  • Product
Last response: in CPUs
Anonymous
a b à CPUs
March 16, 2001 2:57:09 PM

Hey guys, Im a newbie at this athlon thing, Im planning on buying an athlon 1 ghz and just wanted to know if this is a good buy, Ive heard from other people that all athlon processor are prone to overheating and can easily be damaged, is this true? BTW im not planning on overclocking or anything, I just want to use it as normal as possible, What if I left the PC on for about 5 days straight, will the processor burn? BTW, the room im into is not that hot and not that cold, and what if I left the PC overnight or 2 days straight while encoding a video (divx) will this have a bad effect on the processor? Thanks so much! :) 

More about : athlon 1ghz

March 16, 2001 3:17:36 PM

The heat problem is something that generally occurs because people overclock without adequate cooling or do not properly attach the HSF (heat sink & fan) onto to the proc.

I have never had overheating problems with my Athlon, stock HSF and one chassis or case fan to circulate air.
Anonymous
a b à CPUs
March 16, 2001 4:02:53 PM

Thanks for the reply, is there a compatibility issue with Windows2000 when using this athlon 1 ghz on an asus A7V? If there's none, how about other software or hardware compatibility issue?
Related resources
March 16, 2001 4:09:26 PM

My Athlon 800 on a nt4 sp6 never had bluescreens and incompatibilities.
These problems related to athlon (eg. heating ) was created by some intel lammers.
Anonymous
a b à CPUs
March 16, 2001 4:20:44 PM

What can you say about the athlon socket a 750 mhz? is it also a good buy?
March 16, 2001 6:11:25 PM

Humble, dont let the AMD people steer you wrong.

You dont have to overclock for your CPU to fry itself.

It only takes a few seconds before its toast.