G

Ok, First, I am a complete and utter newbie when it comes to computer hardware, so please bare with me. If I am in the wrong forum for this kind of question just ignore me or tell me where to go.

I've owned a computer for 5 years but I know next to nothing. I've been lurking here for a for weeks and reading all I can about CPU's, mobo's and chipsets.

If anyone feels like it, could you recommend a good AMD system for me? I am looking for specifics. Such as motherboard, chipset, video card etc. I want to run the T-Bird 1 ghz.

I will not be building it, but a tech friend of mine will be. He is recommending an "all in one" motherboard. I think he said its made by pc-chip and the chipset is SiS630 or something. He says I can allocate 64 meg to the on board video card and I will be fine. Is this board any good? Or is it a pile of crap?

I do play games, including online games that require a decent system including graphics card. I also have a cable modem.

Anyone want to recommend a decent setup around the 1Ghz T-Bird that will support a good graphics card? My friend either has or can get all the hardware and do the work, I just need some suggestions.

I appreciate any help.

Thanks.

Shaidar

wapaaga

Distinguished
Jan 18, 2001
most people here like to stayt away for all in one mobos becuase the graphic card usaaly aren't as good as you can get in a agp. they can alos be somewhat harder to upgrader later if you want to.about the only thing i've found that people say is ok to have the mother board is the sound hardware but it is a good route if you don't have as alot of money to spend

G

scrap the board man

beleive me scrap it its junk

For a little more you can get a good name brand board like
Asus or Abit or MSI or whatever
but they perform very well

=-)
If you want to save money buy a Asus board or Abit with on board sound. Do not get on baord video
Ask around on here for a good cheap video card but yea
good luck