Sign in with
Your question

IPS vs TN for gaming (shooters)?

Last response: in Computer Peripherals
September 11, 2012 8:30:17 PM

Hello guys,

I've read alot about TN vs IPS but i just can't find an answer! I'm still a newbie @ it though but from what i've read TN panels are about 15ms faster than an IPS panel, however, that's like 15/1000's of a second. Does THAT little time even matter while playing shooters like COD, BFBC2, BC3 and other games like GTA and race games? I'm planning to buy an AOC i2352Vh LED, which is an E-IPS if i'm correct. it has about 5ms gray-to-gray response time, what i can't find though is what colour display bit it has. TN or IPS, both panels will have 60 hz refresh time. IPS vs TN 6 bit display -> is there any difference too except angle view?

Thanks!

More about : ips gaming shooters

a b 4 Gaming
September 11, 2012 9:57:43 PM

I'd recommend a 120hz TN panel for optimal performance. The higher refresh rate makes as big or bigger difference in the fluidity of a game. It's also not so much about making you aim faster or what not, but having that little bit less latency makes the game feel more responsive, and for about half of the US population, it also helps reduce simulator sickness.
September 12, 2012 10:41:24 AM

bystander said:
I'd recommend a 120hz TN panel for optimal performance. The higher refresh rate makes as big or bigger difference in the fluidity of a game. It's also not so much about making you aim faster or what not, but having that little bit less latency makes the game feel more responsive, and for about half of the US population, it also helps reduce simulator sickness.

Thanks for the answer, but this answer didn't help me alot, sorry :( 
Related resources
a b 4 Gaming
September 12, 2012 11:02:58 AM

as far as what the aoc panel is... you will have to look it up